Response from WDDTY (Weird Delusional Dishonest Tosh Y’know?)

After my previous post, I decided to send the advertising department a link to The Nightingale Collaboration’s latest review, which includes the number of ASA complaints. Here is my email and their response:

From: Ben Sagan [cumbrianskeptic@gmail.com]
Sent: 28 February 2013 17:44
To: Jenny Scott
Subject: Advertising

I wondered what your response might be to the article here:http://www.nightingale-collaboration.org/news/143-wddty-9-taking-stock.html

If you need help generating copy tag lines, I offer you this: https://benseye.wordpress.com/ where you can also find a link to download a simple spreadsheet.

Enjoy

from Jenny Scott <jenny.scott@cabbell.co.uk>
to: Ben Sagan <cumbrianskeptic@gmail.com>
date: Fri, Mar 1, 2013 at 8:52 AM
subject: RE: Advertising

Hi Ben, you are my friend. The publicity has sent our sales through the roof! Bless you : )
regards,
Jenny

Now, apart from the slight taste of bile in my throat, I had a couple of other reactions:

1) I am definitely not her friend – we have never been in contact before

2) I seriously doubt that their publicity (I assume that of The Nightingale Collaboration) had any impact on sales this quickly AND I would love to see their sales figures for the current and previous issues. My idea of “going through the roof” may differ from theirs – anyone know how I can check this ‘fact’?

So now, what to do? Well I saved one (possibly two) poor soul(s) in our town by throwing myself on the grenade buying a copy, and hiding the other one. I will now attempt to read it and produce some comments for a subsequent blog and a lengthy email to them.

P.S. I did also tweet a comment to Lynne Mcaggart who produces the dangerous rag magazine with her husband, but as yet no reply.

Tags: , , , ,

About bensagan

Co-founder of the West Cumbrian Skeptics

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. WDDTY: My Master List | Josephine Jones - March 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

Cumbrian Sky

Just another WordPress.com weblog

SusCoGroup2013

Sustainable Cockermouth Group - exploring the sensible expansion of a gem town

Hmmmm

Just another WordPress.com weblog

robives.com

Idle jottings

TheSkepticMag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Manchester FABLAB

Where anyone can make almost anything

jimsamson16

Cumbrian geology

West Cumbria SitP

Drinking Skeptically

Faith and Skepticism

Where nothing is off limits

Exposing PseudoAstronomy

Talking about bad astronomy everywhere it rears its ugly head.

